Friday, September 26, 2008

The Give Up.

So I figured out why I can't handle politics for an extended period of time. It is because in the end...everything just becomes ridiculous and terrible. I still have very strong opinions about just about every issue. But it really doesn't matter. People will still see only what they want to see and that is that.

I had to listen to a co-worker yesterday tell me how I don't know where my media is coming from but she "only watches Fox News Channel." I then asked why. Because it is "fair and balanced," she replied. I asked how she knew. She couldn't come up with a concrete answer. She told me that she believed Hannity and Colmes, because they seemed like they were honest. I watched Hannity and Colmes for a few minutes last night so I could have something to explain to her today while at work. In response to McCain flying to Washington to somehow save the financial bailout deal, H&C were going to have on Newt Gingrich, Ann Coulter, and Condoleeza Rice. Fair and balanced, huh? My co-worker didn't come to work today. :( In response to her telling me that she really liked Sarah Palin, I asked, "You do realize that you are more educated than her, correct?" Her response was..."Well, she was smart enough to govern Alaska." Hmm. This woman will never see something that she doesn't already believe, never.

I also took the time to look at both candidates webpages today to compare and contrast. Seriously, go to both websites. It is ridiculous. It is soo silly. They are pretty much identical in almost every way. In explaining the issues...they both list about 95% of the same things. The only difference I could really see was that of McCain including gun control into his issues. And how he supports the Second Amendment. Now, I am an Obama man. I would never hide that. And I challenge you to dispute the validity of the following statement, but Obama has listed his policy ideas and solutions on his website for quite a long time now. McCain I would imagine, has not. And now McCain is basically campaigning for the EXACT same things Obama wants. Eerily similar to how McCain started saying that he was going to be the one to bring change to Washington. HOW? How can he possibly make that claim? If you went into a coma around 10 months ago, and woke up today, the first thing you might say to yourself or someone around you would be..."Wait, Obama was campaigning using the slogan about change when I got in the bad car wreck."

I am sick. John McCain makes me sick. Literally ill. He went from being a very good candidate in 2000 to being the outright puppet of a Republican campaign machine. What a real "maverick" he is. I hate him.

I may add more later, but my liberalism ends at 4:30 on Friday afternoons because work is over.

Thursday, September 25, 2008

The Palin.

There she is. Your Republican vice-presidential nominee. You know her story by now. You know her daughter (who is hot, by the way) is knocked up big time. We know one of her sons is in the military. You may agree with her policies. (I have to make a dig here about how she doesn't actually seem to know what her policies are at this point anymore because she is being told what to say.) You may not agree with her policies. (Me. Over here! Me.) But I think it needs to be stated, that if her and John McCain won the election, she would be second in line to be the president of the United States of America. And I am not too crazy to think the McCain might not have four years left in his natural life. I would be sad if he died. And then shock would hit me. Sarah Palin would be the president of America. I cannot even begin to fathom this. I have nothing against her being governor of Alaska. Well, except for her wanting to explore ANWAR for its resources. We do need that oil. We need sooo much oil. Thirty may be the new twenty, but sunlight is not the new oil. We need fossil fuels. But, would I have something against her being president of this country? Yes, just a little bit. Or a whole bunch. Or a ton. Or a megaton. Something more than a megaton. Anyways...

This stems from me seeing a segment on the Today show dealing with "Real life hockey moms." The story was obviously spurred on because of Sarah Palin. So that is who we want running the country, a hockey mom? I understand it is very nice to see something in a candidate that you can relate to. And we end up voting for a candidate because we agree on the same issues, hopefully. (Unless the other candidate is black, then we would never vote for him, never.) But seriously, when did it become the thing to vote for people who are most like you? I will tell you this, I want to be voting for someone who is absolutely not anything like me. Just because I think I know what is best for this country, does not mean that I feel in any way that someone who is like me would be an ideal person to run the country. It has just become absurd. Yes, John McCain is a veteran, but just because you are also a veteran, that does not mean you have to vote for McCain. And yes, Sarah Palin is a woman, but being a woman does not mean you are required to vote for her.

As you can see...this idea of voting for a person because they share similar qualities with you is ridiculous to me. And this would be the exact reason why I pretty much hate every single person who has ever been a member of the NRA (this includes you Mrs. Palin). It is pretty uniformly the stance of every NRA member to vote for Republican because they share the idea that bearing arms, even assault rifles, is somehow the most important aspect in their lives. And you got angry when Obama claimed you clung to your guns and religion? How right he was. I don't know what else to say. I still don't know when that became the reason to vote for a president, because you are similar to him. I hope all the good ol' boys are happy with how their good ol' boy president turned out. I hope they are especially happy with how their good ol' boy president handled the economy and allowed businesses to do whatever they want.



I will refrain from providing a detailing of just how disgusted I am with the recent financial meltdown and just how angry I am with the idea of laissez-faire economics.

Friday, September 19, 2008

The Large Hadron Collider.

There are a few things I love in the morning. One of them is not being late to work. I didn't have that this morning, that is for sure. I also love my morning cup o joe. Except the whole part about coffee being gross for the most part. And the last thing I love is reading an article from the Associated Press telling me interesting stories from around our country and the world. I absolutely did not get that. Instead I open my browser this morning to find that the AP has written an article detailing the shutdown of the Large Hadron Collider. AKA LHC. AKA The Big Smasher. AKA Earth's Little Black Hole Creator. It appears as though...well, hell, here is a link if you really care about the details.
Where is that black hole I was promised?

This may be a devastating blow to the Large Hadron Collider's bid for presidency this year. I have accurate information that dozens of people, or maybe just one person, was planning on casting a write-in vote for the Collider this November. Now, after this failure will the public be more critical of LHC? Is the Large Hadron Collider too inexperienced to lead this country? What does the Large Hadron Collider plan to do to fix our crumbling economy? Does it plan on only smashing things in order to secure the nation's financial markets? How will the LHC handle the Bible Belt? Can he gain the religious vote, considering his main goal is to provide information as to what the universe was like shortly after the Big Bang? These are all valid concerns. One big advantage the Large Hadron Collider has going for it though is that it will have the support of foreign nations, with full support coming from Europe. Or at least European scientists.

This does not change that fact that my biggest concern is not the Large Hadron Collider's policies, but where it is located. The Large Hadron Collider is built under the French and Swiss border. Do we really think that was a good idea? Building something of such importance and power so close to Germany. They loved to build things underground. Certainly not as much as the Vietcong, but they are a different topic entirely. Honestly though, do we want the Germans to be a short march away from the LHC? When the Germans attacked Poland, they woke up at 9 a.m. and were in Warsaw before lunch. Why did the Germans have to have a perfect race? That is what keeps me up at night. If they just settled for controlling a great deal of the industrialized world, I would have a better fondness for them. I mean, lots of people started wars for so many years, I can't blame them for that. And even to hate another group of people is usually okay. You just don't have to kill them. Anyway, I am getting off the point. Do we really want the LHC that close to Germany. We are an art school dropout and a half day hike away from WWIII. And this one will have black holes, I guarantee it. I cannot wait.

Anyways, despite this minor, and I emphasize minor, setback, I feel the Large Hadron Collider will in fact still run for president. Now the question remains...who will he choose for a running mate? Will the Large Hadron Collider choose its close predecessor the Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider or the smaller but more "maverick" of the particle colliders, the Tevatron. This will be an important decision in the LHC's campaign. The Tevatron is from Illinois and could make this state that has been consistently won by Democrats, a battleground state that will not simply be handed to Obama in the coming election. I do know this...even if the Large Hadron Collider won't get enough votes to win this election, the Hadron Party is going to be a force in American politics for some time. The proposed Super Large Hadron Collider may be around in ten years and could begin smashing particles in time for the 2020 election.

Large Hadron Collider
Tevatron '08
Change you can believe in...at the subatomic level.

Tuesday, September 2, 2008

The Bristol.

The McCain campaign has made a fatal error. It appears as though, John McCain has wrongly chosen his vice-presidential candidate. McCain chose the not so pregnant, not so beautiful Sarah Palin, when all along he was actually meaning to choose Bristol Palin. McCain must now be completely frustrated that his old brain has again failed him and lead him into making a terrible mistake. Bristol Palin would have been the perfect running mate. She is young and could capture the young vote to which Obama seems to have such a firm grip on. Annnd, she is a babe. She is also preggers. We all know how excited the media gets over pregnancy. I could just imagine the coverage the "Bristol 'bump' watch" would get. Man, I am just trying to figure out who knocked up the governor's hot seventeen year old daughter.

Is it possible? Am I more intrigued by this story than I am by the iPhone girl controversy. If you haven't read my previous posts, (you must have been brought up in the Cleveland public school system, because you are an idiot) then here is a link to the iPhone factory worker. Smokin' Chinese factory babe.